skip navigation

Recent High School Varsity News

Jaxen Andersen Selected to Play for Team Texas

By AHAI 03/22/2019, 12:45pm CDT

Andersen will represent Amarillo Hockey on the national stageā€¦

For the second consecutive season, a player from the Big Texan Bulls Varsity team was selected to Team Texas. Team Texas will participate in the heavily scouted America’s Showcase tournament April 11th-15th, 2019 in St. Louis, Mo.

The Showcase Tournament, is sponsored by USA Hockey and supported by the Texas Amateur Hockey Association (TAHA), is open to High School Juniors and Seniors from across the state who are currently playing high school hockey in Texas.

Andersen was the captain of the Bulls and had a career high season in every category. His league leading 36 points (14 goals and 22 assist) for a defenseman propelled him the win the Rio Grande High School Hockey League Defenseman of the Year award.

“I feel very fortunate to have the opportunity to represent Amarillo High School hockey at the Americas showcase tournament. We have a great hockey program in Amarillo, we are developing a lot of players and have a winning culture. Being selected to Team Texas wouldn’t be possible without all of my teammates and our great coaches.”, expresses Andersen.

“Amarillo Hockey places a major emphasis on proper development. The player must commit to the process and buy into becoming the best they can be on and off the ice. For a player to be good enough to play on the national stage they need to be dedicated off the ice. Jaxen did just that. His effort and attitude were excellent and his dedication and discipline to taking care of details on and off the ice everyday gave him this tremendous opportunity. There are no secrets to being successful. Its grinding it out and staying consistent. Jaxen serves as fine example to his peers and to the younger kids coming through our program that hard work and trusting in the process is the key to reaching your goals.” explains, Austin Sutter, who served as Jaxen’s coach for the past three seasons.

Amarillo Hockey is proud of Jaxen and wishes him and Team Texas the best as they travel to St. Louis in April.

AHAI has been chosen as the beneficiary for this years United Charity Classic...

The Amarillo Hockey Association (AHAI) has been selected as the 2019 United Supermarket Charity Golf Classic beneficiary. This is the largest charity golf tournament in the Amarillo. The tournament will be on Monday, June 3rd at the La Paloma and Tascosa Country Clubs in Amarillo, TX.

This is the 26th year of the United Supermarkets Charity Classic Tournament.  The committee consists of members representing United Supermarkets, Amarillo National Bank and Alpha Media.  Every year, the committee goes through a selection process and chooses a charity to benefit from the proceeds raised.  The only requirements to apply are that the charity must be local and must help children.  This golf tournament has funded over $980,000 in our community since its inception!

“The Amarillo Hockey Association is extremely blessed, honored and humbled to be selected as this year’s recipient of the United Charity Classic”, says Austin Sutter, the Executive Director for AHAI.

“This honor comes with a lot of responsibility, and we have a great team of volunteers and Hockey Family that will be very eager to help raise the most money since the tournaments inception 26 years ago. This is a chance of a lifetime for our program, not only financially, but also the awareness and prestige that AHAI will receive from the community”, Sutter explains.

How can you help...

We will be selling raffle tickets, tee box sponsorship's and 6 man teams, or individual players for the event. If you would like to participate or help out please go to:

If you would like to contact someone directly, please email:

Austin Sutter-

Sandie Firestone-


Hockey Day in TX 2019

By AHAI 01/31/2019, 9:30am CST

We are celebrating the 5th year of Hockey Day in TX!

Hockey Day in Texas is back for a 5th consecutive year. 


Welcome to the 5th annual Hockey Day in Texas! We invite you to come enjoy and celebrate the greatest game on earth, the goal is to introduce the game to new people, create awareness for hockey in the panhandle , and to raise money for the Amarillo hockey association.


This game is about celebrating the spirit of hockey. It is a “pond hockey” atmosphere. All ages and abilities will be participating, we are so excited that this will be our 4th season celebrating this event. Last year we had over 120 participants. Our goal is to have over 150 people play this season.


How can you help:

1.Register and earn pledges- the most pledges wins awesome prizes

2.Register to volunteer (score keepers, info desk, goody bags…)

3.Help find donations for the silent auction


This game is about experiencing the pure joy of playing hockey. Thank you for supporting this fundraiser and we appreciate your passion, dedication and commitment to hockey in Amarillo!