skip navigation

Ronald Mahood Pride & Purpose Trophy Nominees

By AHAI, 04/10/18, 6:45PM CDT


2018 Pride & Purpose nominees announced...

This will be the second season in Amarillo to present The PRIDE AND PURPOSE trophy. The award began in 2001 when the Phoenix Polar Bears junior team and their youth program presented it for the first time to honor their directors late father RONALD G. MAHOOD. Their director, former Bulls Assistant coach, Harry Mahood passed along the trophy to our organization last season to keep his father’s memory alive, and to inspire the players in our program to be outstanding hockey players, outstanding students and outstanding citizens.

PRIDE: Caring


Each season the Amarillo Hockey Association and the Amarillo Bulls Jr. A team partner together to recognize one player in each of the following categories:

Youth (Squirt, and Pee Wee)

High School (JV and Varsity)

Junior (The Amarillo Bulls)

Last years recipients were: Gunnar Vick (Youth), Vincent Petrey (High School) and Matt Nehls (Amarillo Bulls). Each player received a free week of hockey camp at the Northwestern Hockey Camp Canada.

This year our committee made of coaches and office staff have nominated the following players. The winners will be announced at the Travel Hockey banquet on Thursday night.


Youth: Gavin Andersen, Marcello Tortoreo

High School: Aidan Wright, Vincent Petrey

Amarillo Bulls: Austin O’Rourke, Marcus Chorney

Congratulations to each nominee for a terrific season on the ice, in the class room and in the community.